e-TECH 2.0

Beginning the Journey

Yahoo Invades

For those of you out there who use Skype, will find some competition now in the form of the largest bloat-ware corporation in the business. Yahoo is now robbing from Skype its online presence. Yahoo and MSN has been providing crappy pc-to-pc calls for years. Those of you who do not know what I am talking about, try Skype, you will never go back. I do all my calling with Skype, because it is TRUE VOIP Technology. Not that crappy stuff MSN and Yahoo try to pass off.

In anycase, Skype started the whole revolution and is a TRUE Web 2.0 company. I dont particularly calssify Google, Yahoo and MSN as TRUE Web 2.0 becuase its all proprietary and commercial. In anycase, thats just my dogmatism speaking. Skype has something called 'Sype-Out' that allows you to call a telephone from your PC for less than 0.02 cents per minute,,,or maybe I'm wrong about that. But they have been doing it for some time, years even. Yahoo is just now jumping on the bandwagon with their,,,guess what its called,,,,,you got it, 'Phone-Out'. Can you believe it? They couldn't even be creative and make up their own name. Talk about stealing someone elses online presecence and diluting it. As a person with an acutal marketing degree, I think the Yahoo marketers are extremely un-ethical with this approach, and my already low opinion of them, has just dropped even lower. Too bad I love flickr to much, it appears my hypocrisy knows no bounds. 😉

For those of you who want REAL awesome quality pc-pc free phone connections;

Call me!

(ACtually forget the button, no server-side scripting with a wordpress hosted blog. 😦 )

April 27, 2006 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment